Events

ISU Extension's "Stress on the Farm: Strategies that Help" Program

Download 4

In response to the additional stress related to the derecho storm that has brought devastation to many parts of Iowa, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, in collaboration with COVID Recovery Iowa, will offer another round of 10 online “Stress on the Farm: Strategies That Help” programs beginning Friday, Aug. 28. 

While our agricultural community has been impacted by COVID-19, many have now experienced extreme losses of their crops, buildings, storage and other hardships that came with the storm. This is all additional pandemic stress that is impacting our agricultural community and it’s important we’re all aware of the signs of stress for ourselves and so that we can be of help to our neighbors. 

ISU Extension and Outreach will offer Stress on the Farm: Strategies That Help at various dates and times to meet the busy schedules of those in the agricultural community. Each program will last for one-half hour on the following dates and times:

· Friday, Aug. 28, 1:30 p.m.

· Monday, Aug. 31, 10:30 a.m.

· Thursday, Sept. 3, 8:30 a.m.

· Tuesday, Sept. 8, 3:30 p.m.

· Friday, Sept. 11, 10:30 a.m.

· Monday, Sept. 14, 12:30 p.m.

· Tuesday, Sept. 22, 6:30 p.m.

· Friday, Sept. 25, 12:30 p.m.

· Monday, Sept. 28, 6:30 p.m.

· Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2:30 p.m.

Agribusiness professionals, agriculture lenders and bankers, veterinarians, vet techs, commodity group members, producers and other concerned individuals can register at no cost for any of these programs. To register, go to https://www.extension.iastate.edu/humansciences/stress-farm. Participants will receive a unique URL prior to the program to access the Zoom hosted program. 

Also see https://www.extension.iastate.edu/humansciences/farm-ranch-wellbeing for other key state, regional and national resources.